top of page

Chawn Goodie Helps Entrepreneurs to Monetize Their Message

Media is a powerful tool and it helps people to get their message out there to the masses that otherwise might’ve been more difficult to get out just on a word the mouth type of basis. This is what media mogul, Chawn Goodie helps people do.


Mr. Chawn Goodie is a multimedia producer that serves professional speakers and entrepreneurs to help them monetize their message to be able to send it out the masses in order to get some money off streaming, which in turn will set them apart from the pack.


I recently interviewed Mr. Goodie where he chatted more on his mission to help his people in business.



The Empress Dee: What made you gravitate towards media production?

Chawn: I gravitated toward it because I was a music artist and I was making music and trying to find a way to get out there. So, I started at broadcasting school; divine intervention, somebody told me about broadcasting school, and I enrolled in it and I like being behind the scenes more than being in front of the camera as a rapper. I started out doing short films in the hood, but I had to edit at school because I did not have the editing software at the time so my school hours were always until about 9pm; so after class I would just stay there and edit. The content was about “hood stuff” and the alumni saw it and said, wow, this is what you are putting out there to the world and I was like, it’s hot right (both laugh).


So, I had to figure out what it was that I wanted to put out into the world and how I wanted to represent myself and my people. Once I started creating positive material, opportunities started to come.


The Empress Dee: For people who are interested in becoming entrepreneurs in media production what would you say is the best thing for them to start off with?

Chawn: All you need now is a cell phone, make sure that you are connected to Wi-Fi and you can record your stuff. There are a lot of social media sites out there that are free; leverage the platforms and use the right hashtags. A lot of people are making things accessible; you have professional sites like, Linked In and Instagram is always going to be there, so make use of what is available to you. The same stuff that you used to entertain yourself on your phone can also help you get to the next level.


The Empress Dee: Growing up who were some of your inspirations?

Chawn: I am motivated by everything. I would say that my ancestors if I had to pick someone off the top of my head. Because, they did not have the same opportunities that we have; they fought for everything that we have. They did everything that they could just to get a taste of freedom…just a taste. I want to make them look good; I want to make every runaway slave that died look good.


The Empress Dee: How important is it that we get more Black men and women involved in media production?

Chawn: It is so important because that is what gives us the ability to control the narrative. Once we get involved and create the platform, whether it is 5, 100 or 5,000 followers, that is something, that is a person that you are touching. A lot of times people get caught up in not having enough likes or followers but even if it is one person, that is still someone that you are engaging, and you can build off that. That one person will be someone that will promote you when you are not around. I have gotten opportunities just because someone said, hey you need to meet this person.


The Empress Dee: Who are some of your favorite motivational speakers?

Chawn: My favorite motivational speaker right now is William Hollis. Every time something pops up in the media, he is always going to speak on it. He is raw and authentic, and he is always dropping something, he posts consistently. If you are a motivational speaker, you are my favorite…I love everybody.


The Empress Dee: For people who are entrepreneurs, who have been taught to always be working on their craft and who feel like they always have to “be on” or they feel guilty, what words of advice can you give them?

Chawn: Everybody deserves a break. I am even hard on myself at times; I even did a whole documentary on that. I could have a sleepless night, and then I will wake up…sometimes I feel bad if I am eating breakfast for too long. So, there are definite times when I feel like I am a slacker, but I look at my product and my output; my body of work that speaks of itself over a period of 24 hours then you are good. At a job you are working 8 hours a day and there is a certain amount of work that you can do in that time; so as long as you spend 8 hours a day on your craft then you are good. I try to do 12…work a double so to speak.


The Empress Dee: Would you consider yourself an introvert or an extrovert?

Chawn: I do not know. Sometimes I feel like talking to people and then there are times when I do not feel like talking to people. I feel like with marketing and promoting myself, freelancing and being a business founder, you have to be out there but if I had to pick, I would say that I am an introvert.


The Empress Dee: What advice would you give to those of us who are introverts in how we can get out there and promote ourselves?

Chawn: I would say to keep it light and to do something. It could be a post, or you can speak to people who are just like you; other introverts and that will make it easier and you will not have to think too hard about a caption…start off speaking to yourself so that others will start talking to you.


The Empress Dee: For entrepreneurs who are just starting off, what would you say is more important; to build your content or your followers?

Chawn: I just dive in and I know that I will get better. You are going to watch me get better. I am not going to spend a week thinking about what I am going to do. But throughout the week you will see me figuring it out. People are going to grow with you. They will see that two weeks ago your website was looking crazy but now it looks great.


The Empress Dee: What advice would you give to Generation Z about how to find what motivates them or finding things that they are passionate about?

Chawn: It is a slippery slope; you want to consume the stuff that is out here, but you cannot let it affect your mind. You need be good within before you consume too much media. If you are not good within then you might see someone else’s success as a negative, especially if they are doing the same thing that you are doing. But if you are in a good head space then you will be able to see that you are doing the same thing that they are doing and that it is just a matter of time. You can always google to see what worked for them. You may be able to write to them and ask them, they might charge a consulting fee but go and check out their website. Look to see the content that they are putting out, the information is right there for you.


The Empress Dee: I know that you produced videos for motivational speakers. Do you ever find yourself creating your own motivational videos?

Chawn: It depends on the project. There are some things that may call for me to say something but for the most part, I do my best to not put myself in situations where I have to speak too much. I do host workshops. I talk to schools. It is just like Nike…just do it.


The Empress Dee: Do you have a lot of people who are interested in getting into media production come to you asking for help?

Chawn: I do not get a lot of it but when I do, I am responsive to it. There are a lot of people who want to do what it is that I do but they do not understand what I do. I do a little bit of everything, but I specialize in the speaking business. It is not like there are a whole lot of people wanting to do what I am doing but if you want to get into videography, editing…stuff like, I am always responsive to. Someone can have something that has not quite taken off yet and that little piece of information that you give them or software that they may need can help them get to the next level. They will remember you and catapult you and you can keep moving and building.


The Empress Dee: You mentioned that you went to school. Did you know from that very first day that you wanted to become an entrepreneur, and this is what I want to do or was it something that came over time?

Chawn: Oh no, I knew from the first day. I walked in focused. I walked there because I did not even have the transportation to get there. The bus only went halfway there, so I had to walk the rest of the way there. The whole time that I was walking I was like when I get in here, I am going to be in there. So, my motivation has been different from the beginning. I do not take anything for granted, I already knew what was up when I walked in there.


The Empress Dee: How much of a role would you say that faith played?

Chawn: Faith played a big role! You have to be right within and it is important to trust yourself. You got to believe in divine intervention; you had the idea for a reason. Only you can bring your dream to reality. Because you are special and you have a special DNA…nobody is quite like you, so no one can do what you can with your ideas.


The Empress Dee: I come across so many people who will downplay their talent, they are not confident in themselves and it is like they are selling themselves short. Then someone will come up with a different idea that is like yours and then you are like…dang!

Chawn: You are getting an idea and someone else is getting that idea at the same time. Everyone is living their life at the same time. The only thing that is different is the execution of the plan. So do not worry about someone else is may be already doing it. It is not about who did it first, it is about who did it right. There is room in every profession. There are like 1000 rappers that are signed to different labels, but everybody gets their piece of the pie. So, you can start an industry or break into an industry, you can do whatever you want now, it is so easy.


The Empress Dee: Have you found yourself busier with media production as all the protests are going on?

Chawn: People create content around that and the protesting; it is unfortunate that it is happening, but it is crazy to see that people from all over the world are supporting and across the board are just fed up. I have been watching everything. I have not been out protesting, looting or anything like that. I just want to harness it into my work.


The Empress Dee: How do you feel about this movement and all the different communities that are supporting us?

Chawn: It is amazing to see. I am surprised to see all the support that we have been getting. It tells me that change is coming or at least that change is in motion. When I saw that The White House put up Black Lives Matter outside of The White House and on the same street, they changed the street name to Black Lives Matter…oh my goodness!


The Empress Dee: Yes, I agree! It is our time.

The Empress Dee: What words of wisdom can you offer during this time of civil unrest in the country and specifically for the Black community?

Chawn: I say execute! I am sure that it crosses your mind what can you do? Anytime that you get an idea just do it…even if you are not all the way there with it, even if you just got to step 1, someone will help you get to step 2. We just want to see that you are trying. People do not want to hear excuses, you cannot shut down, you just go harder. If all else fails, just go harder. It is hard work to do anything…I see people go through BS all the time, but you do not go through BS if you are not trying to do something. If you are not going through something, then you are not doing anything.


The Empress Dee: Do you have any projects coming up that we should be looking out for?

Chawn: I am always working on something. Just continue to check the website: motivatormusic.com. There is a motivation section there with new memes and videos which are update every Monday. You can even start to submit your content to the motivation section. Also, there is a featured music section. I feature different motivational speakers throughout the month. So, right now there are 5 speakers up there; so, you can get your stuff featured if you are a speaker. There are different workshops, webinars. There are new E-Books on the way; one E-Book was going to be $10 but with everything that is going on, it will be .99 right now. How to Monetize Your Speaking Career: The 5 Steps to Monetizing Your Speaking Career.


The Empress Dee: Perfect. We will be looking out for all your up and coming projects. Thank you so much for allowing us to do this interview with you. For all our viewers and our listeners, please subscribe to our website so that you can get that mailing list to start a membership or to promote your own business. Thank you again Chawn and we wish you the best of luck on your endeavors.


Follow Chawn Goodie

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page