top of page

Francesca Andre Tells Stories, to Represent Black Culture


Francesca Andre
Francesca Andre

The best way to make an impact and change the community is through the arts. Music, film, and art are some of the biggest outlets when it comes to getting a message out there to the community.


The Black community in particular, checks those outlets for any type of inspiration, motivation, or just as a means of how to cope and survive in the world as a Black person in America. So this is why positive imagery and messages are critical.


Photographer and filmmaker, Francesca Andre, is a prime example of someone who is utilizing art in a positive way to promote and activate change in the community.


I recently had the pleasure of interviewing Mrs. Andre where she chatted more on her movement.


Lior: Mrs. Andre you are an award-winning filmmaker, photographer, andwriter. Can you share with us some of the outlets you’ve worked with?

Mrs. Andre: Absolutely, as a photographer my work has been published in outlets such as the New York Daily News,News Day,NY Post,CT post,Westport Magazine,Sheen Magazineand many more. My work as a filmmaker has been featured in Ebony, Essence, Black Enterprise, ThinkProgress, Shadow and Act as well as listed on the list of 40 under 40 by Connecticut Magazine.


Lior: What inspired you to become so skilled in the artistic realm and did you know you’d be this successful at it?

Mrs. Andre: I am naturally a passionate person and disciplined when it comes to my craft. My godmother, Marie Antoine Andre introduced me to the arts when I was a little girl and creating has been my safe space, my way of existing, my voice, my therapeutic outlet and more. As far as success, as long as I am giving birth to my ideas, it’s success to me.


Lior: You have so many different projects out it’s hard for me to keep track! There are a few projects I’d like to highlight though and one of them is your short film, Charcoal. I know colorism is one of the main themes of the film so I must ask, in this new era of Black people celebrating their melanin, do you feel colorism is still masked beneath the surface.

Mrs. Andre: It’s always a struggle to talk about colorism and racism. There are so many layers and we cannot address them at a superficial level, but I will say this if we as Black people decide to take our power from racism and colorism by celebrating who we are, our history, our contribution, our magic, our hair, our skin, our features, it is not to be considered performative. We can celebrate while still dealing wit these issues. Both colorism and racism are systemic and require new systems in order to be dismantled.


Lior: Were your own personal experiences incorporated into the film or was it more so based off of your own observations?

Mrs. Andre: Both personal as well as observations.


Lior: Now you are also the author of a book called “ I am a Phenomenal Black Boy.” Where did your inspiration come from and what was your intention while creating the book?

Mrs. Andre: My son inspired me as well as the events that were happening around the world with the protests and the Black Lives Matter movement.


Lior: Do you see yourself publishing more books that encourage the liberation of Black people?

Mrs. Andre: Yes, I am working on a few more as we speak.


Lior: I’m sure that as a photographer you have a plethora of things you could capture on camera. What are some of the things you like to highlight in your photography?

Mrs. Andre: I like portraiture but if life circumstances were ideal, I will be traveling around the world doing photo documentary and learning and connecting with people from different cultures.


Lior: I was looking at your portfolio and it is absolutely breathtaking. I love The way you make our brown skin look so radiant. I know some Black women Complain about photographers not knowing how to capture their Black beauty. What advice would you give them in regards to seeking a photographer?

Mrs. Andre: Thank you for your kind words about my work. I will advise them To study the photographer’s work before contracting them. We deserve to be photographed as the magical, beautiful beings that we are.


Lior: How does the ability to create in these multifaceted forms make you feel? How do you feel it contributes to your life’s purpose?

Mrs. Andre: Free and purposeful! I feel, I create! My film work is more tied with my purpose than my photography work but both mediums are necessary for my sanity.


Lior: What is the ultimate vision you see for yourself?

Mrs. Andre: A happy, engaged, creative, productive citizen of the world (Mother/Artist).


Lior: Do you have any upcoming projects we should be on the look-out for?

Mrs. Andre: Yes, I have a few books coming out.


Lior: Please remind our viewers of where they can find you!

Mrs. Andre: On my website and social media

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page