top of page

Inland Empire Actor, Allen Maldonado, Discusses New Projects


In Southern California, there is a diamond in the rough where many talented Hollywood stars come from. To local residents it is known as the Inland Empire, better known as the “I.E.”  for the hip and cool.One of today’s Hollywood stars that has been rising to the top, Allen Maldonado, hails from Rialto, California, which is in the Inland Empire’s San Bernardino County. Maldonado is a multi0talented actor, writer and entrepreneur. He co-stars on the award-winning sitcom “BLACK-ISH” on ABC, has finished his third season as a full time writer on the hit Starz series “Survivors Remorse”, and has recurred for three seasons on “You’re The Worst” (FXX).Most recently, Maldonado starred opposite Tracy Morgan in “The Last OG” and he has developed the industry’s first digital app for short films entitled Everybody Digital, which launched on October 3, 2017.I recently had the chance to interview Mr. Maldonado on his current endeavors. Check out the interview below:


Growing up and still to this day who are your inspirations?

My mom is my inspiration. She is one of the hardest working people I’ve ever known. She raised three kids by herself in a state far away from her family. To me, all the things that I do seem minor in comparison to the obstacles she went against to raise me and my sisters.


What or who influenced you to get into acting, writing and directing?

Acting came first. It was my senior year in high school when I discovered that it was my gift. Writing came next due to my mentor, Michael Kane, who wrote All the Right Movesfor Tom Cruise. He approached me as a kid and took me under his wing and taught me how to write. The directing followed, as it was just another extension of writing and how I was able to truly bring my vision to life.


What was your funniest role played to date?

My latest project, The Last OG, where I get to play Cousin Bobby. A close second was my character, DeShauwn May, on the Starz series, Survivors Remorse.


What’s your favorite role played to date?

Again, I have to say it’s my latest project, The Last OG, where I get to play both Cousin Bobby and his older brother, Clyde. Bobby is fun and goofy. Clyde is dark and violent. It allows me to work on all aspects of my acting chops.


What film or show, cast and crew did you enjoy working with the most?

I’ve worked with many great people from Tracy Morgan, Jennifer Aniston, Sir Ben Kingsley, and Denzel Washington. They all are amazing people to work with.


Can you name for us a bibliography of your work?

There’s too many to list them all, but I was in The Equalizer, Straight Outta Compton, Dope, Cake, Black-ish, You’re the Worst, Major Crimes, NCIS, and many more.


Your highly anticipated project, The Last OG, recently debuted on April 3. What can we expect from the show as it continues to air?

This show will remind the world why we love Tracy Morgan.


Working alongside a star-studded comedic cast, what’s your set life like?

Full of laughter! We’re really one big family.


You’ve recently created a new app, Everybody Digital. Can you tell us about it?

Everybody Digital is a new and exclusive streaming app that features short films and short form digital media. This app is the ultimate library for licensed award-winning films from across the world, providing a home for short films.


What inspired you to create such an industry-changing app?

Heartbreak. I found out that after I had a successful film festival run for a short film I wrote and produced, there wasn’t any further distribution after the circuit. It was very discouraging knowing that this film I put everything into had a limited shelf life and even more limited exposure. With Everybody Digital, we plan to expose these films to the world.


What advice and wisdom can you give to us millennials on success and following our dreams?

Live life like you have no tomorrow, but know tomorrow brings another day to be better than yesterday.


Follow Allen Maldonado 

Follow Everybody Digital

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page