top of page
  • Writer's pictureADMIN

More Women are Using Nature as a Form of Self-Care and Therapy


Life has a way of knocking you down—if you let it. In 2018 I vowed to make that a year of self-care after going through some life altering moments and while taking time out for myself proved to be challenging, it was worth it. Now the realization of the new year has finally suck in for many, 2019 is also a year of self-care goals for many women.


In a recent article, Tulaine Montgomery whose a self-described social impact doula and managing partner at New Profit, a philanthropy organization in the Boston area describes self-care as a necessity of learning to tend to herself.


“For Black women we are dealing with both patriarchy and racism. We have to navigate both external and internalized bias. I consistently strive to create leadership that is powerful and results driving while also featuring grace and love,” said Montgomery.

While many women tend to shy away from self-care routines, sometimes it can happen by force. Enter Sara Schulting-Kranz. Kranz, owner of Live Boldly Coaching teaches women who’ve experienced traumatic situations how to uncover their true self by using nature. 


According to Kranz, a series of traumatic situations including finding out about the infidelity of her husband led her to therapy by using nature.


“When everything transpired I didn’t initially seek help for myself first. I have three sons and I wanted to make sure they were ok first and then of course my husband. I sought out help for everyone except myself,” said Kranz.


Nature therapy is described as the practice that combines a range of exercises and tasks in an outdoor environment. These therapies can include garden, horticultural and Kneipp therapy. 


More women including Black women are crossing over from the traditional therapy sessions to now using nature as a way of coping and to get through many tough scenarios. Khadijah Livingston of Los Angeles traveled with a group of African-Americans to Tanzania to climb Mount Kilimanjaro.


“It was true self-reflection for me that led me to go with the group all the way to Tanzania just to hike a mountain. I had been battling depression and nothing seemed to work for me. I came across a Facebook group for Black travelers and noticed a post in specific about a group that was planning to go hiking,” shared Livingston. 


Like Kranz and Livingston, you are not alone. Many times seeking help or therapy may not be your first choice, but it is a form of self-care because you are putting yourself ahead of everyone else.


Whether you utilize nature or venting your close girlfriends, a healthy self-care routine is important and should be included as part of a healthy lifestyle.


“2019 is my year of pure self-compassion. What I mean by pure self-compassion is by committing myself everyday to putting my shoes on and taking a five minute walk outside and slowing down. I will take this time to slow down and pay attention to whats around me,” said Kranz.


Kranz provides coaching virtually and hosts a series of retreats and workshops throughout the year. To learn more, visit www.liveboldlycoaching.com.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page