top of page

Poetry Corner: Loving the skin I’m in


As a young black girl, I believed my black was ugly.

My dark skin, big lips and nappy hair was ridiculed by many. 

Ignorance is strong in the young.

As a teen, I begin to blossom and see some beauty in me.

I had a swagger and sway in my step,

A confidence grew and my magnetic light begin to shine.

As a woman I grew into my fine.

My big lips became sexy and seductive. 

The nappy hair became fierce,

My mocha skin was glistening.

I  discovered the beauty in me.

As a fully developed grown woman,

I recognized the beauty inside.

My heart is so giving, compassionate and forgiving.

My mind, is so thoughtful, amazing, and wise.

My soul is divine.

A heavenly glow radiates from within.

Now I know my black is beautiful.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page